A Hunger Strike Against Donald Trump

deplorables

It is for us the living, rather, to be dedicated here to the unfinished work which they who fought here have thus far so nobly advanced. It is rather for us to be here dedicated to the great task remaining before us.
-Abraham Lincoln, “The Gettysburg Address”

I feel the time has come to project my own inadequacies and dissatisfaction into the sociopolitical and scientific schemes. Let my own lack of a voice be heard.
Waking Life

For weeks now, it has been difficult for me to watch the nightly news without coming close to tears. Until this year, I simply never believed that my country, the United States of America, would entertain electing a politician like Donald Trump.

Donald Trump is not just another Republican nominee. He is different in kind from Mitt Romney or George H. W. Bush. He is an irresponsible, immoral, conniving misogynist. He is a liar. More importantly, he is a credible threat to the liberties that the American people hold most dear, including freedom of religion and equal protection under the law. His attacks on President Obama, as a leader of the “birther” movement, were cunning expressions of racism. His statements about Mexico and the Mexican people are racist. His statements and proposed policies towards Muslims living in this country are racist. His statements about his opponent, Hillary Clinton, are frequently lies.

Donald Trump is closely connected to the white supremacist, anti-Semitic, sexist political movements on the far right of the political spectrum. He has “disavowed” David Duke for the same reason that he reversed his position on Obama’s birthplace: for the sake of political expediency. Nonetheless, he is an ally of the “alt.right,” which is to say, of the ugliest and most bigoted expressions of American ignorance and hatred.

I do not need to give examples to support these claims. Everyone is familiar with the statements Mr. Trump has made. Unfortunately, because Hillary Clinton is such a poor campaigner, Mr. Trump has become a viable candidate for President. There has been far too much complacency towards his candidacy. It is not a joke or a passing headline. Trump is dangerous. A vote for Hillary Clinton is a protest vote against Trump; a vote for Jill Stein or Gary Johnson is merely a confused and counterproductive act.

I am unemployed, and do not have any money to contribute to Ms. Clinton’s incompetent campaign. For some time now, it has not been clear to me what I could do to protest Trump’s fascistic rise to power. Finally I have reached the point where I believe the only thing that I can do, as a person of conscience, is make the one sacrifice available to me, in support of the American citizens and residents to whom Mr. Trump poses such a serious threat. (In this category is my wife, a Canadian citizen seeking permanent residency in the United States.) I can go without food until such time as Mr. Trump concedes the Presidential race, or Hillary Clinton’s victory is assured, or I am compelled to stop for personal or medical reasons.

I will periodically update this blog with information about this protest.

I hope you will join me. There is no time to lose.

-Joseph Kugelmass

