Promoting academic blogging at the MLA

Scott Kaufman at Acephalous has asked us to keep a series of links to a post (which is exclusively about this experiment) moving through the blogosphere, radiating out from Acephalous.

He’s calling this a “meme.” In my opinion, it’s not so much a meme (which I associate with catch-phrases, faddish ideas, and the like), as one way of proving how far across the web the work of academic bloggers actually goes. The results will be part of a presentation at MLA. That is, I think, worth proving, if you do any blogging on matters like poetry, feminism, liberal politics, or other things that intersect with ye olde academy.

Tag, you’re it! (Also I want to know whether you think storms are “cool or scary,” and what you want for Christmas. I think they’re cool, and I want some new shoes.)

All necessary steps provided below. (The numbered section is actually Scott, not me.)

  1. Write a post linking to this one in which you explain the experiment. (All blogs count, be they TypePad, Blogger, MySpace, Facebook, &c.)
  2. Ask your readers to do the same. Beg them. Relate sob stories about poor graduate students in desperate circumstances. Imply I’m one of them. (Do whatever you have to. If that fails, try whatever it takes.)
  3. Ping Techorati.

Cheers.

